Jarratt: Remember

September 11th, 2001. A day every American should remember, yet so many have forgotten. As we are upon the tenth anniversary of this tragic day, we need to remember!

I was only 6 when it happened, but I can remember bits and pieces of it. I remember my dad taking me to first grade. He was talking to my mom on the phone and he said, “Another one went down!” I also remember getting home from school that day, and asking my mom what happened. She said, “Some evil people flew planes into the World Trade Center and the Pentagon. There was another plane maybe headed for the White House, but the people on that plane were heroes and crashed it in a field to keep others safe.” I remember that very distinctly! I didn’t really know what was going on though. After all, I was only 6! The point is I REMEMBER!

It is heartbreaking to me that some don’t even think 9-11 is an important day. If we don’t remember what has happened 10 years ago, then who is going to tell our kids and grandkids about the day that Al Qaeda attacked our nation and killed innocent people, just because America exists? It was shocking to me that last year, on the 9th anniversary, hardly anyone even mentioned it! I think that this year we will have more people remembering, but that is only because it is a significant anniversary.

September 11th is not a day to be celebrated. It is a day to mourn the loss of fellow Americans. Where I live, somebody has the nerve to put on a carnival for September 11th at a High School! I gave them the benefit of the doubt, that it was just a coincidence. I found out later, that it is in honor of September 11th. They say it is a celebration of life and to honor those who keep us safe. I’m sorry, but that is wrong! It is a solemn day, which needs to be remembered with sorrow and mourning.

This year, start a new tradition. Go to the fire stations and police offices and thank the service men and women in your town. Tell them that we will NEVER FORGET September 11th 2001!

God bless the families who lost loved ones, those who serve to keep us safe, and God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

