Lanser: Palin Supporter turned Santorum Supporter

October 5th, 2011 would be the day we all wish to forget. It is the day former Governor Sarah Palin announced that she would not seek the 2012 Republican nomination for President of the United States.

           

As a proud Palin supporter, I found myself lost. Who had the values and principles that I admired so much in Sarah Palin? Rick Perry? Michele Bachmann? Names began to float through my head. Like many Americans, I decided to sit back and watch the debates. Though Bachmann had her nights and Perry had his moments, neither of them stood up to the Governor. There were inconsistencies and a lack of focus. I turned to Gingrich and then quickly turned away. I came to the conclusion that I might have to settle. Romney was doing well in the polls and had been consistent in debates. No matter how many times I came to the conclusion that Romney could be the one to support, something always stopped me from doing so. Santorum, of course! The man all the way at the end of stage. Could he be the guy? I began my research and concluded that he was by far the most conservative candidate that could defeat Barack Obama. Why had I not seen this before?

 

“If voters start kind of shifting gears and deciding they want ideological consistency, then they’re going to start paying attention to say, Rick Santorum, who has been consistent on being a hard-liner against Iran to help protect Israel, he’s been consistent in wanting to protect the most vulnerable and the sanctity of life, he’s been consistent in saying we need to slash the federal income tax,” Governor Palin said. The type person Palin speaks of here was, at the time, me. Governor Palin was recently quoted as saying, “I did praise Rick Santorum, and I will do it again!”

 

Why settle? Vote Rick Santorum in 2012!

One comment on “Lanser: Palin Supporter turned Santorum Supporter

Leave a Reply

